Due to the many allegations and questions of credibility, Senator Leila De Lima has been ousted as the chair of the Senate committee on Justice.

This was after neophyte Senator Manny Pacquiao made a motion to declare the chairmanship and membership of the Committee on Justice and Human Rights to be vacant. 

Former Senate President Franklin Drilon immediately objected the motion which led to the suspension of the session to hold a senators' caucus. The chamber quickly put the motion to a vote when the session resumed. Drilon voted for objection which was immediately seconded by Senator Risa Hontiveros. 

“We  register our objection. We believe there’s no basis for the motion,”  Drilon said.

Hontiveros said: “On behalf of Akbayan party, I respectfully register my objection.”

Senate President Koko Pimentel decided then to made a roll call vote after dividing the chamber. The results? Sixteen senators voted in favor of Pacquiao's motion while 4 objected. 2 senators abstained from voting. 

Along with Drilon and Hontiveros who voted for the objection were Sen. Aquino, and Sen. Pangilinan. 3 of them were part of the Liberal Party while Hontiveros belongs to the Akbayan partylist group but ran under LP-led slate during May 2016 elections. 

After the voting, Sen. Tito Sotto moved to elect Sen. Dick Gordon to head the committee and Senator Lacson as the vice-chairman which was agreed by the body.

Meanwhile, Senators  Pacquiao,  Pangilinan, de Lima, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Grace Poe,  Alan Cayetano have been elected to be part of the committee.

Source: TNP, Inquirer

So what can you say about this one? Let us know your thoughts in the comment section below, and don’t forget to share this blog post to your family and friends online. And also, visit our website more often for more updates.

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter

Post a Comment